Login | Register | FAQ
Anonymous

How to get slideshow code into my website?

+ Post a reply

16 posts 1, 2


How to get slideshow code into my website?

by fanww » Mon Apr 09, 2012 3:39 pm

I don't know how to make a slide show using code from here
http://www.2webvideo.com/blog/all-purpo ... to-gallery

I use notepad++
I use filezilla client to upload files to webhost.
On the webhost, the website files should be placed in a subdomain folder
I've made to test the website with the slide show.
I have 3 pictures for the slide show
named
aaa.jpg
bbb.jpg
ccc.jpg
And 3 png pictures for the controls named
lef.png
rig.png
sts.png

My website code is
<html>
<head>
</head>
<body>
<center>hello!
</body>
</html>

How do I, step by step, get the slide show into the website?
Thanks.
User avatar

fanww

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 3:24 pm

Re: How to get slideshow code into my website?

by XainPro » Tue Apr 10, 2012 7:34 am

User avatar

XainPro

  • Posts: 3933
  • Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:10 pm

Re: How to get slideshow code into my website?

by fanww » Tue Apr 10, 2012 4:33 pm

Thank you for answering. I appreciate your effort.
This is really difficult for me.
I tried for days to get this slide show to run, and failed.

I have tried to follow your instructions the best I could.
And the slide show partly runs.

I did this:
I took the html code you stated, and pasted it into notepad++. I didn't
change anything in the code.
I saved the code as a html file and named it index.

I took the swissarmy.js code, and pasted it into a new notepad++. I didn't
change anything in the code.
I saved the code as a js file and named it swissarmy.

I took the slideshow.js code, and pasted it into a new notepad++. I changed
this in the code:
slideShow[0] = ["1-big.jpg", "Seagulls", "http://www.2webvideo.com", "_new", "top=250, left=300, width=500, height=300, location, resizable, scrollbars"];
slideShow[1] = ["2-big.jpg", "Clock Tower"];
slideShow[2] = ["3-big.jpg", "Promenade", "http://www.yahoo.com"];
slideShow[3] = ["5-big.jpg", "Lamborgini", "http://www.google.com", "_new"];
slideShow[4] = ["4-big.jpg", "Atlantic"];
slideShow[5] = ["6-big.jpg", "Tuk Tuk", "http://www.bing.com", "_new"];

changing picture names, so this part of the code got like this:

slideShow[0] = ["1-big.jpg", "aaa", "http://www.2webvideo.com", "_new", "top=250, left=300, width=500, height=300, location, resizable, scrollbars"];
slideShow[1] = ["2-big.jpg", "bbb"];
slideShow[2] = ["3-big.jpg", "ccc", "http://www.yahoo.com"];
slideShow[3] = ["5-big.jpg", "ddd", "http://www.google.com", "_new"];
slideShow[4] = ["4-big.jpg", "eee"];
slideShow[5] = ["6-big.jpg", "fff", "http://www.bing.com", "_new"];

Jpg picture names are: aaa bbb ccc ddd eee fff
I sized all pictures to 300 x 250. Don't know if that is
important.

Then I saved the code as a js file named slideshow.

Now I moved the index and armyswiss and slideshow files
into the webhost folder.

I don't know if it's ok to put the jpg and png pictures
into a separate folder, and move that folder to the webhost folder. Therefore I moved the pictures into
the same webhost folder as the index and armyswiss and slideshow files.

This is the result when I browse the site.
The control images show and work like they should.

But instead of displaying the jpg pictures above
the control images, the jpg picture names are displayed.
I've attached a browser capture of the slide show.

So the slideshow displays aaa then bbb then ccc etc.
Not the pictures themselves.

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you in advance.

Attachments

  1. slideshowbrowsercapture.jpg (3.66 KiB) Downloaded 8029 times
    Shows the slideshow when browsing the website using latest firefox.

User avatar

fanww

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 3:24 pm

Re: How to get slideshow code into my website?

by XainPro » Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:27 am

you have done all the things right just need to replace the names of images here


slideShow[0] = ["aaa.jpg", "aaa", "http://www.2webvideo.com", "_new", "top=250, left=300, width=500, height=300, location, resizable, scrollbars"];
slideShow[1] = ["bbb.jpg", "bbb"];
slideShow[2] = ["ccc.jpg", "ccc", "http://www.yahoo.com"];
slideShow[3] = ["ddd.jpg", "ddd", "http://www.google.com", "_new"];
slideShow[4] = ["eee.jpg", "eee"];
slideShow[5] = ["fff.jpg", "fff", "http://www.bing.com", "_new"];

hope now your slide show runs :)
XainPro
User avatar

XainPro

  • Posts: 3933
  • Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:10 pm

Re: How to get slideshow code into my website?

by fanww » Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:24 pm

Thank you again. And the slide show runs. I wasn't able to make it run myself,
because I cannot read the code. I take, the second time the picture name is in a code
line, is the name of the picture shown on the slide show. I will now investigate
how to do the settings and use the optional features.
User avatar

fanww

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 3:24 pm

Re: How to get slideshow code into my website?

by XainPro » Thu Apr 12, 2012 4:18 am

you are welcome.
it makes me happy to know that your slideshow is now fully working.
that was a nice experience for me as well and actully its a nice multipurpose slide show i will also use this in my own projects which requires a simple slideshow.
XainPro
User avatar

XainPro

  • Posts: 3933
  • Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:10 pm

Re: How to get slideshow code into my website?

by cchurchcni8 » Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:59 am

Thanks a ton, this worked fine for me..
could not figure out why the websites after the slide name.
removed the the reference still works

Thank you ......
will come back here for more
User avatar

cchurchcni8

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:50 am

Re: How to get slideshow code into my website?

by XainPro » Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:55 am

WELCOME :)
User avatar

XainPro

  • Posts: 3933
  • Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:10 pm

Re: How to get slideshow code into my website?

by hodad77 » Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:30 pm

Hello. I was able to get the code to work just fine. However, when viewed in my IE8, every other picture will not fade into the next one. It merely changes directly to the next picture in the sequence. It works OK in Opera, Chrome and Firefox. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
User avatar

hodad77

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:24 pm

Re: How to get slideshow code into my website?

by XainPro » Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:49 pm

use any other good cross browser compatible slideshow :)
User avatar

XainPro

  • Posts: 3933
  • Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:10 pm


+ Post a reply

1, 2