登录 | 注册 | FAQ
Anonymous

第14课:Web标准及验证

在这一课,你将了解一些有关HTML的偏理论的知识。

关于HTML,还有什么要了解的?

你可以以多种不同的方式来编写HTML;同时,浏览器也可以以多种不同的方式来理解HTML。你可以认为HTML有很多种方言。这就是为什么某些网站会在不同的浏览器上显示出不同效果的原因。

为了解决这一问题,HTML发明人Tim Berners-Lee先生创办了万维网联盟(World Wide Web Consortium,W3C)来致力于制订通用的HTML标准。但这是一条漫长而艰难的路程。

过去,在浏览器都要收费的年代里,Netscape曾是占据统治地位的浏览器。那时的HTML标准是2.0和3.2。但是,作为市场份额达90%以上的Netscape,它不必、同时也没有太在意通用标准。相反地,Netscape创造了自己特有的元素,这些元素在其它浏览器上将不起作用。

在很长一段时间内,微软几乎完全忽略了因特网。但不久之后,微软开始与Netscape竞争,并推出了IE浏览器。尽管IE浏览器(Internet Explorer)的早期版本在支持HTML标准方面比不上Netscape,但由于它是免费提供的(免费总是很受欢迎的),所以IE很快便成为最流行的浏览器。

微软从IE的第4版和第5版开始致力于对W3C HTML标准作更多支持。而Netscape则没有设法开发新版浏览器,只是继续供应已经过时的第4版浏览器。

其余的事,大家都知道,就不必提了。今天,HMTL标准已经发展到4.01版和XHMTL。现在,占据市场90%以上的份额的是IE浏览器了。IE也有自己特有的元素,但它也支持W3C HTML标准。同样地,其它的浏览器,比如Mozilla、Opera和Netscape等,都是既有自己特有的元素,也同时支持W3C HTML标准。

因此,只要你遵循W3C标准来编写HTML,你的网页将永远能在所有浏览器上显示出来。幸运的是,你在本教程学到的是XHTML,它是最新的、更严格、更纯正的HTML版本

酷 !如何向别人透露HTML的版本信息?

HTML有很多不同种类,所以你需要告诉浏览器,你的HTML使用的是哪种“方言”(比如XHTML)。具体做法是采用文档类型声明。文档类型声明应写在HTML文档的开头部分:

例1:

	
	<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" 
		"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

	<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" lang="en">

	<head>
	<title>网页标题</title>
	</head>

	<body>
	<p>一些文字</p>
	</body>

	</html>
	
	

除了要给出文档类型声明以外(上例中第一行,它告诉浏览器这个文档是XHMTL),还需要在html标签中加入一些信息,也就是添加两个属性xmlnslang

xmlns是“XML-Name-Space”(XML名称空间)的缩写,其值固定为http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml。关于名称空间,你只需了解这么多。但如果你希望作更多了解的话,可以登录W3C网站阅读有关名称空间(namespaces)的内容。

lang属性用于指定当前文档所使用的语言,其值采用ISO 639标准中列出的世界各国语言代码。上例中,我们指定文档采用的语言为英语(对应的属性值为“en”)。

通过HTML文档头部的文档类型声明,浏览器可以知道如何读取和显示你的HTML。今后,可以使用上例作为模板来编写你的HTML文档。

此外,文档类型声明在验证网页时也很有用。

验证? 为什么要验证文档?如何验证呢?

你可以用W3C的免费验证器(validator)来检查你的HTML文档是否符合你在文档类型声明中所指定的类型。

为了测试如何验证文档,请编写一个网页并将它上传到因特网上,现在,打开网页validator.w3.org,在网页里输入你网页的网址(URL),然后验证它。如果你的HTML没有错误,将显示成功信息。否则,你将会得到错误报告,它会详细告诉你出错的位置和原因。你可以在网页里故意制造一些错误,看看会返回什么样的结果。

这个验证器不仅仅对找错有帮助。有些浏览器会尽量修复HTML中的错误,按照它们推测的正确结果去显示网页。使用这样的浏览器,你会忽视网页中存在的错误。而该网页在其它的浏览器上看到的效果可能会截然不同,甚至根本无法显示。所以,可以用验证器帮你找到可能被你忽视的错误。

请始终坚持验证你的网页,以确保它们能正确地显示。



<< 第13课:上传网页

第15课:最后提示 >>

Login | Register | FAQ
Anonymous

Lesson 14: Web standards and validation

In this lesson, you will get a little more theoretical knowledge on HTML.

What more is there to know about HTML?

HTML can be coded in many different ways. And browsers can read HTML in just as many ways. You could say that HTML has many dialects. That is why some websites look different in different browsers.

There have been attempts to make a common standard of HTML through the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) founded by Tim Berners-Lee (yep! the great guy who invented HTML). But it has been a long and tough road.

In the old days - when browsers where something you had to pay for - Netscape was the dominate browser. Back then, the most supported HTML standard where called 2.0 and later 3.2. But with a market share of over 90% Netscape did not have to - and did not - care much about common standards. On the contrary, Netscape invented their own strange elements, which did not function in other browsers.

For many years Microsoft almost completely ignored the Internet. After a while they took up the competition with Netscape and introduced a browser. The first versions of Microsoft's browser, Internet Explorer, were not any better than Netscape at supporting the HTML standards. But Microsoft chose to give away their browser for free (always a popular thing to do) and Internet Explorer soon became the most popular browser.

From version 4 and 5 Microsoft aimed to support more and more of the HTML standards from W3C. Netscape did not manage to develop a new version of their browser and continued to distribute the outdated version 4.

The rest is history. Today the HTML standards are called 4.01 and XHTML. Now it is Internet Explorer that has a market share of over 90%. Internet Explorer still has its own strange elements but it also supports the W3C HTML standards. And so do all of the other browsers, such as Mozilla, Opera and Netscape.

So, when you code HTML following the W3C standards, you make websites that can be seen in all browsers - both now and in the future. And luckily, what you have learned in this tutorial is a new and stricter and cleaner version of HTML called XHTML.

How do I tell which version is used?

With all the different types of HTML you need to tell the browser which "dialect" your HTML is in, in your case XHTML. To do that, you use a Document Type Declaration. The Document Type Declaration is always written in the top of the document:

Example 1:

	
	<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" 
		"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

	<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" lang="en">

	<head>
	<title>Title</title>
	</head>

	<body>
	<p>text text</p>
	</body>

	</html>
	
	

Besides the Document Type Declaration (the first line in the example above), which tells the browser that you want to write XHTML, you also need to insert some extra information in the html tag with the two attributes xmlns and lang.

xmlns is short for "XML-Name-Space" and should always have the value http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml. That is all you need to know. But if you have a big hunger for complicated knowledge you can read more about namespaces on W3C's website.

In the lang attribute you state which language the document is written in. For this the ISO 639 standard is used, which lists codes for all the languages in the world. In the example above the language are set to English ("en").

With a DTD the browser knows exactly how it should read and show your HTML. Hence, use the example above as template for all your future HTML documents.

The DTD is also important when you want to validate your pages.

Validate? Why and how should I do that?

Insert a DTD in your pages and you can always check your HTML for errors by using W3C's free validator.

To test this out, make a page and upload it to the Internet. Now, go to validator.w3.org and type the address (the URL) of your page and validate it. If your HTML is correct you will get a congratulations message. Otherwise you will get an error report telling you exactly what and where you have done something wrong. Make some errors on purpose to see what happens.

The validator is not just helpful to locate an error. Some browsers try to compensate for lack of skills among web developers by trying to fix errors in the HTML and showing the page as they guess it should look. With such browsers, you might never see an error in your own browser. However, other browsers might guess differently or not show the page at all. The validator can help you find errors you did not even know existed.

Always validate your pages to be sure they will always be shown correctly.


Related topics in the HTML ForumRepliesViews
validation14236
live validation25530

+ Post a new topic


<< Lesson 13: Uploading pages

Lesson 15: The final tips >>

?>